Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust
History  |  About the Trust  |  Projects  |  Events  |  Store  |  Contact Us  |  Book Awards
Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust

A Short History:

The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust was established following the death of Ashton Wylie in 1999. Ashton Wylie, an Auckland businessman, was a philanthropist with a wide range of interest particularly in the area of spirituality, personal development and positive relationships. Read More »

Of his many interests, Ashton singled out the "purpose of assisting people to become more perfectly loving" to be the principal purpose of the AWCT.

These instructions have been formalised into the AWCT Objectives.

Sign up for our newsletter!

Mind Body Spirit Literary Award Winner and Former Sceptic Claims Existence of Afterlife

Literary works by a retired engineer and a yoga practitioner are the winners of the 2016 Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards, described by judges’ convenor Adonia Wylie, as an outstanding body of work from within the genre.

Nelson retired software engineer, Alastair Bruce Scott-Hill, won the Book Category, for The Paranormal is Normal published by Xcell Books. Scott-Hill’s book uses “solid science” to claim the existence of reincarnation, the paranormal and immortality.

Wellington astrologer and yoga practitioner Linda George won the Unpublished Manuscript Category with Living in the Big Picture. George’s manuscript looks to the hidden teachings of the ancient world to help us thrive in a chaotic modern world.

‘‘There was some healthy and robust debate around our different preferences,’’ Wylie says. ‘‘It’s very heartening that there were so many quality entries that attracted the judges in different ways.’’

The judging panel of AWCT trustee Adonia Wylie, author Keith Hill and journalist Mike Alexander were unanimous in their overall choice of the winning book. Up to eight other entries vied for selection as one of the four other finalists.

There were ten finalists, five in each of the two categories – for published works and unpublished manuscripts. The category winners each receive a $10,000 prize.

The 2016 Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards Book Category winners (in order) are:

  1. 1. Alastair Bruce Scott-Hill The Paranormal is Normal (Xcell Books)
  2. 2. Tony Michael Martin A Sense of More Than (Makaro Press)
  3. 3. Louise Beker Her Eight Limbs of Love (Angelos Publishing)
  4. 4. Kelvin Cruickshank Soul Secrets (Penguin Books)
  5. 5. Dr Adrian Harrison Creating Now (Balboa Press)

The 2016 Ashton Wylie Mind Body Spirit Literary Awards Unpublished Category winners (in order) are:

  1. 1. Linda George Living in the Big Picture
  2. 2. Kathy Fray Oh God – What the Hell Do I Tell Them
  3. 3. Judith Hoch The Soothsayer
  4. 4. Clement McGrath Yoga of Relationships
  5. 5. Kerryn Fisk The Waka Taua.

The winners were announced at a ceremony at The Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust’s own venue, Hopetoun Alpha in Auckland on 19 August, 2016.


« Back to Book Awards

Copyright ©2018 Ashton Wylie Charitable Trust. All rights reserved.   |  Web Design by Silicon Dream